rhoadley.net   music   research   software   blogs

cv    music    text    software

PhD Commentary


  • introduction
  • through the sharp hawthorn
  • in principio
  • four archetypes
  • sextet
  • only connect
  • shilbottle cobbles
  • miscellaneous pieces
  • scena
  • concertino
  • three pieces for two pianos
  • conclusions
  • bibliography
  • Abstract

    Literally, the commentary to my PhD submission from 1994, which took the form of a portfolio of compositions with tapes of performances and the included commentary. The latter are the 'explanations' of the pieces and were necessary (I think) to satisfy the academic requirements of the University system.

    My tutors during my time at Durham were Dr Michael Clarke, Professor John Casken and latterly Dr Peter Manning.